everythingyoualwayswantedtosaybutwereafraid

Things you always wanted to say but were afraid

The Scandalous Reports of Child Abuse in School

Boy is that LA school district screwed.  And no doubt parents are upset and rightfully so.  The entire staff is being replaced.  I mean everyone.  Drastic things require drastic actions.  People say that there is more of this kind of stuff these days, but I believe that it has always been around just without the media to expose it so it either remained unknown or local in it’s exposure.  A person I knew had a son by her father back in approximately the 1930s.  She had sisters as well, and I’m sure he got around to them.  The father even had the audacity to take out an insurance policy on the boy and list himself as the father.  No one responded.  The boy died at around the age of 21.  He was somewhat developmentally delayed.  He even managed to graduate high school.  Of course back then, no one asked for birth certificates or anything else. Can you imagine the headlines today?  Anyway, I digress.  Do we really have answers against evil?  I just don’t know, but it makes me sick when that evil is directed against children.  I mean imagine the wonderful innocense of children.  To know that it has been ripped so callously from some of them is one of the few things that makes me think of the word “kill”.

I don’t know what else to do to try to “screen” people.  We fingerprint, do background checks, criminal history checks, interview, check references both listed and unlisted.  We try to find people that know them personally, and yet with all this there are still those that are just unfit for society.  We also go to such extremes to screen non-employees that come into the school that they are often irritated with the procedures.  But what they deem to be extreme, we do because our worst fear as real educators it that one or our children might in any way be permanently affected by some injustice.  In my 22 year career I feared nothing more than that because I wondered how I would ever help that child again or even live with myself if it happened on my watch.  I felt the same way about my own children, but somehow when several hundred parents leave their children with you every day it seems more daunting than watching my own three.  Although I am admittedly paranoid about evils in the world, and it often made my school parents unhappy that I went to extremes to identify people, or that I was extreme in my supervision and expected my employees to be the same, I was only scared “to death” one time in my career.  A special needs child left the school and left the grounds.  It was the closest I came to really loosing my temper with employees, because every procedure was in place to protect the student.  It was not deliberate;  but nonetheless, it happened.  I have had it happen to me as a grandparent as well, because I have a special needs grandson, but it still does not prevent you from going through all the what ifs.  Both those stories had happy endings, but many do not.  If mine had not I just don’t know if I could have lived with it.  Well, this has been a depressing rambling hasn’t it???  Maybe things will lighten up later.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Forming The Thread

Words form the thread upon which we string our experiences. - Aldous Huxley

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

learningpathllc

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Ruminations on Love & Lunchmeat

There's always a story.

squeegee182

A fine WordPress.com site

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

The Experimental Farm

Just another Blogging The Alternate Economy site

