everythingyoualwayswantedtosaybutwereafraid

Things you always wanted to say but were afraid

When families were closer

Image Detail

O.K. Before you even think it, let me say I realize that all people do not live a fairy tale existence.  In fact, in our family I am the one that always has to say, “It’s not Beaver Cleaver, and I don’t wear pearls to cook and wash dishes.”  I did read a post by Just Between Cousins, and it made me think about families in general.

The Mr., as you probably know by now, is the youngest of nine children – seven boys and two girls.  It had a distinct pattern of two boys, then a girl, two more boys, then another girl, two more boys, then him.  He screwed up the pattern.  Anyway, on top of that both his parents came from big families, so they knew if some one came to visit, in all likelihood they were cousins.

My mother was in the same situation since her mother was one of eleven children and her father was also one of eleven children.  It meant that if family came to visit it probably was a cousin – too many cousins to count.  Then a strange thing happened.  My mother was an only child and my father had one sister.  That meant, for me, I had only one aunt and one uncle make the probability of me having numerous cousins slight.  My aunt and uncle tried for several years to have children and adopted their first child when I was fourteen years old.  That made it near impossible for me to have that lovely experience of a family full of aunts, uncles, and cousins.

Image Detail

When I was small, I used to try to get other kids to let me borrow their cousins since I didn’t have any of my own.  Although I missed out on that family adventure, I was blessed to have three great-grandmothers, one great-grandfather, two grandmothers, and three grandfathers (one step) when I was born.

Just as many people asked if they could have my grandmothers.  I would tell them, “NO, GET YOUR OWN GRANDMOTHER.”

As we relived these memories of cousins and no cousins, the conversation drifted to how close people were to their sisters and brothers back then.  In talking about the reason for this, we discovered, there was no one else or nothing else but your siblings.  No video games or television or movies or ipads or ipods.  After school activities were chores and homework and those you did with your siblings.  You probably slept in the same room with all or some of them which meant that every day, every hour, they were with you.  Even if you really didn’t like them, they were all the kid companionship available.  Then, what a treat when the cousins came to stay.

Maybe we should get away from the idea of everyone having their own bedroom and bath.  It doesn’t lend itself to learning how to get along.Image Detail

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “When families were closer

  1. It’s nice to see someone else who feels about family the way I do, and I really don’t have one to speak of either. Only had my grandparents, and they are gone now. Thankfully, I still have my parents. I know families can be annoying sometimes, but it’s still something special to have. Thanks for the nice post.

Leave a Reply

Forming The Thread

Words form the thread upon which we string our experiences. - Aldous Huxley

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

learningpathllc

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Ruminations on Love & Lunchmeat

There's always a story.

squeegee182

A fine WordPress.com site

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

The Experimental Farm

Just another Blogging The Alternate Economy site

