everythingyoualwayswantedtosaybutwereafraid

Things you always wanted to say but were afraid

I like shooting a gun, but……

Image Detail

I have to be truthful.  I enjoy shooting a gun, and it doesn’t matter if it’s a handgun or a rifle.  Granted, I don’t have much experience, but I have shot a 22 pistol, a 410 shotgun, and a few other hand me downs.  I have never bought a gun.  The collection in our house has grown as people have died.  We now have the Mr.’s dad’s 22 rifle, his brother’s rifle of some kind and another brother’s rifle of some sort.  We also have two handguns, one was my grandmother’s 22 pistol and the other was the Mr.’s sister’s handgun of some sort.  As you can tell by my intelligent discussion of the types of guns we own, I am not very well versed in the pastime.  I do enjoy shooting them, but only at inanimate objects.  I have shot bales of hay, telephone poles and old water cisterns made of concrete.  And honestly, I enjoy it.

I have often wondered if I could shoot a person.  I think I could if I felt threatened enough.  I could imagine a situation where someone was after me or any of my family and I shot them, but I’m sure I would be so nervous that it would be a toss-up as to which of us got shot, me, the family, or the attacker.

I just don’t understand how a person could possible need all those assault rifles unless they were police officers and needed them to keep up with the Jones.   I mean the drug dealers.  I don’t know.  People I know that have shot those automatic assault rifles tell me there is nothing like it.  I doubt I will ever know because the ammunition alone would break my budget.

Anyway, I just wanted to confess.  I’m not ready for the NRA, and in fact I’m not sure why we need that organization.  Seems to me we have lots of guns and lots of people who aren’t going to give them up, so I don’t know what the NRA does for them.  If those people get mad they just shoot someone don’t them?

But, I do have a great thought.  Ted Nugent and Dick Chaney as hunting partners.  A great reality show.  Put them both on an island a let them hunt whatever they want to.

Image Detail

Image Detail

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Forming The Thread

Words form the thread upon which we string our experiences. - Aldous Huxley

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

learningpathllc

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Ruminations on Love & Lunchmeat

There's always a story.

squeegee182

A fine WordPress.com site

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

The Experimental Farm

Just another Blogging The Alternate Economy site

