everythingyoualwayswantedtosaybutwereafraid

Things you always wanted to say but were afraid

All that you need is in your soul

The words just float in my mind from one of the greatest of all time songs by Ronnie VanZant and Gary Rossington.

Mama told me, when I was young Come sit beside me, my only son And listen closely, to what I say. And if you do this It will help you some sunny day.
Ohh take your time… Don’t live too fast, Troubles will come, and they will pass. Go find a woman and you’ll find love, And don’t forget son, There is someone up above.
And be a simple kind of man. Oh be somethin you’ll love and understand. Baby be a simple kind of man. Won’t you do this for me son, If you can?
Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold All that you need is in your soul, And you can do this if you try. All that I want for you my son, Is to be satisfied.
Boy, don’t you worry… you’ll find yourself. Follow you heart and nothing else. And you can do this if you try. All I want for you my son, Is to be satisfied.

The baby boy came to visit on Friday.  No really, just to visit.  I was laying on the bed in the back room watching TV when I heard his distinct southern drawl talking to his dad.  I cut off the TV just to be sure it was him, and of course it was.  I just lay there mesmerized for several minutes while I listened to their back and forth about the week they had.  Talk of lawnmowers, weather, kids, work and other events that I am not as attentive to as I could be.  It was just such a simple sweetness; a father and son in a simple conversation about simple things in a mostly simple life comparatively speaking.

It gave me peace.  The kind of peace that you hope you find when you think about “once upon a time” and “happily ever after.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “All that you need is in your soul

  1. Just wanted to let you know I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out at…http://wp.me/p216aw-lP
    Peach State

Leave a Reply

Forming The Thread

Words form the thread upon which we string our experiences. - Aldous Huxley

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

learningpathllc

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Ruminations on Love & Lunchmeat

There's always a story.

squeegee182

A fine WordPress.com site

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

The Experimental Farm

Just another Blogging The Alternate Economy site

