everythingyoualwayswantedtosaybutwereafraid

Things you always wanted to say but were afraid

Although it’s not my state, it is my country

Image Detail

I really did not know much about Wisconsin before I encountered a professor in college that had graduated from the University of Wisconsin and then moved to small town Texas to begin her college teaching profession.  She was an excellent teacher and tried to begin an AIDS outreach program in the small college town much like the one she had volunteered at while she was in college.  She never saw it as anything to do with sexual preference, but you guessed it, the rest of the town did.  She was the first person I saw with the bright pink hair, and I was just so glad to breathe some of that fresh air on occasion.

Then, my son moved to Wisconsin and the schools were so much more progressive with so many more options than we had here in Texas.  I am a retired Texas educator, and I know backwards when I experience it.  So, it does concern me than my admiration for the state of Wisconsin is under siege by money.

Please check out this blog from a person in Michigan that follows politics in that area closely.  I think we all need to take this as our fight.  It’s not just Wisconsin.  Texas has fallen. Virginia has fallen.  Michigan is on the way.  The technique is simple.  The far right gave up trying to get the highest offices and began to work on the small ones (school boards, county commissioners, county clerks, etc.) and conquered them one at a time until they reached that one more person that made them the majority.  Then, one step at a time, they dismantled what did not suit them, and that could mean anything with any diversity or innovation.

So, although it’s not my state, it is my country.

http://eclectablog.com/2012/05/why-you-need-to-defeat-scott-walker.html

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Although it’s not my state, it is my country

  1. I just heard Mr. Romney say today, “Teachers’ unions are not for the kids.” I think that must be the most asinine statement I have ever heard. Who else are teachers’ unions for? Anything to do with teachers is for kids. Sometimes to the detrimint of the teachers!!

  2. Thank you for posting this! I am afraid Ohio may succumb to this as well. We had an issue on the table, but it was (thankfully) voted down. However, the governor now wants it in a bill. Ugh. I just don’t understand why teachers are being targeted.

Leave a Reply

Forming The Thread

Words form the thread upon which we string our experiences. - Aldous Huxley

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND

Straight up with a twist– Because life is too short to be subtle!

learningpathllc

Just another WordPress.com site

Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

Ruminations on Love & Lunchmeat

There's always a story.

squeegee182

A fine WordPress.com site

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

The Experimental Farm

Just another Blogging The Alternate Economy site

